Fun (and Franklin) Friday: Quotes by Ben Franklin


ben franklin quotesYears ago I read one of the most interesting biographies that I could imagine. The subject, Ben Franklin, quickly became one of my favorite historical figures. I find his wit and witticisms to make me smile, ponder and chuckle. Here are a few of my favorites:

  • By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.
  • Do not fear mistakes. You will know failure. Continue to reach out.
  • Energy and persistence conquer all things.
  • Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.
  • A countryman between two lawyers is like a fish between two cats.
  • Creditors have better memories than debtors.
  • I guess I don’t so much mind being old, as I mind being fat and old.

And my all time favorite…

  • Guests, like fish, begin to smell after three days.
Leave a Reply

